A newbie needs help A newbie needs help

Topic: A newbie needs help

Post A newbie needs help
by berryseccam on Sunday, October 7, 2018

Have set up a free ddns (many thanks for your service)
However it comes up with the entry page of my router and not the cctv camera.

E. G. www.myhostname.freeddns.org gives me my router BUT where do I put the local IP address of the camera ---- and port if necessary

I am new to all this so how do I achieve this?

Many thanks in advance for any help

Regards

Kevin

Reply with quote | Report
Post Re: A newbie needs help
by brechbuehler on Sunday, October 14, 2018

You need to set up port forwarding in your router.

You don't provide much detail, so I'll have to guess and assume a bunch. Please correct what I guessed wrong.

Suppose the camera is on the internal address 192.168.1.20 and listens on port 1234,
You'd instruct your router to forward any connections (from the outside) on port 1234 to 192.168.1.20:1234.

Maybe it's not that simple. You mentioned that the entry page of your router comes up, so presumably you pointed a browser at :80 (HTTP), or maybe :443 (HTTPS). As you seem to expect to see the cctv camera, the situation might be that it listens on the same port. Assuming that you want to retain access to both router and camera, you'll have to pick different ports, say :80 for the router and :8080 for the camera. In the router, you'd now forward outside port :8080 to inside 192.168.1.20:80. Your router may or MAY NOT allow forwarding to a different port -- it depends on the router. If you can't, maybe configure your camera to listen on :8080, and forward that port number unchanged?

Reply with quote | Report
Post Re: Re: A newbie needs help
by berryseccam on Monday, October 15, 2018

brechbuehler wrote:You need to set up port forwarding in your router.

You don't provide much detail, so I'll have to guess and assume a bunch. Please correct what I guessed wrong.

Suppose the camera is on the internal address 192.168.1.20 and listens on port 1234,
You'd instruct your router to forward any connections (from the outside) on port 1234 to 192.168.1.20:1234.

Maybe it's not that simple. You mentioned that the entry page of your router comes up, so presumably you pointed a browser at :80 (HTTP), or maybe :443 (HTTPS). As you seem to expect to see the cctv camera, the situation might be that it listens on the same port. Assuming that you want to retain access to both router and camera, you'll have to pick different ports, say :80 for the router and :8080 for the camera. In the router, you'd now forward outside port :8080 to inside 192.168.1.20:80. Your router may or MAY NOT allow forwarding to a different port -- it depends on the router. If you can't, maybe configure your camera to listen on :8080, and forward that port number unchanged?

Reply with quote | Report
Post Re: Re: Re: A newbie needs help
by berryseccam on Monday, October 15, 2018

berryseccam wrote:
brechbuehler wrote:You need to set up port forwarding in your router.

You don't provide much detail, so I'll have to guess and assume a bunch. Please correct what I guessed wrong.

Suppose the camera is on the internal address 192.168.1.20 and listens on port 1234,
You'd instruct your router to forward any connections (from the outside) on port 1234 to 192.168.1.20:1234.

Maybe it's not that simple. You mentioned that the entry page of your router comes up, so presumably you pointed a browser at :80 (HTTP), or maybe :443 (HTTPS). As you seem to expect to see the cctv camera, the situation might be that it listens on the same port. Assuming that you want to retain access to both router and camera, you'll have to pick different ports, say :80 for the router and :8080 for the camera. In the router, you'd now forward outside port :8080 to inside 192.168.1.20:80. Your router may or MAY NOT allow forwarding to a different port -- it depends on the router. If you can't, maybe configure your camera to listen on :8080, and forward that port number unchanged?
Many thanks for your interest and response.
I do have a port open - 100. I used to have this camera working years ago using dyndns but they stopped their service.

I am wondering if the issue is with the camera itself as when you set up the ddns it only seems to give you a few options to use ipcam, oray, dyndns, 3322 and similar although the instructions say that you can use any third party ddns - but how to get it to accept dynu is the mystery. None of these seems to work - 3322 is only in chinese and translate doesn't really help!

It is an F series and and originally came with a sticker saying ddns works using hzzw.ipcam.hk but when you try it is say "ipcam not on line"

I hope that you see the attached file showing the ddns settings page for the camera.

Incidentally, Dynu appears to be far superior to other free ddns systems - super instruction section and quite easy to understand



DDNS settings.pdf

Reply with quote | Report
Post Re: A newbie needs help
by brechbuehler on Monday, October 15, 2018

As you may have guessed, I'm not familiar with IP Camera itself, and talked about port forwarding in general.

Yes, I can see your dyn DNS settings page.

It looks like IPCam used to offer a dynamic DNS service themselves, and you are now switching to Dynu. So you'd need to choose that from the "Service" drop-down. Dynu may or may not be on the list.

User should probably be berryseccam.

I think DDNS Server is api.dynu.com. You probably need to indicate the hostname you chose for your house (i.e., the outside of you router) somewhere, but it is not the DDNS Server.

DDNS Port is probably 80 (or 443). I'm just learning Dynu, but apparently a client (e.g., your camera) sends updates about your IP address in an HTTP request, something like https://api.dynu.com/nic/update?system=dyndns&hostname=yourhostname.dynu.net&myip=42.199.36.82&login=berryseccam&password=xyzzy,
though login and password might be send separately, base64 encoded in the headers.

If you cannot get the IP Camera to do it for you, you can always install a client on another computer inside your firewall/router. Dynu has a few suggestions for clients.

Now, your initial question was about forwarding TCP connections, and I'm aware that now we've changed the topic, and are talking about getting some camera to cooperate with Dynu.

Reply with quote | Report
Post Re: A newbie needs help
by berryseccam on Monday, October 15, 2018

Wow! that was a speedy response - many thanks

I am not certain but I think that the issue that on the screen shot I sent you there is an entry for DDNS Service with a drop down list which does not include Dynu but only ipcam, oray, dyndns, 3322 and there seems no way to change this to include Dynu although later down it lets you enter DDNS or proxy server but putting Dynu in there (freeddns.org) doesn't work.

Another issue: My ISP hasn't changed the WAN IP for several days so I entered

https://cameraname.the WAN IP:the open Port(100)thinking that removing the DDNS service would simplify matters but it didn't work either BUT the camera connects over the premises WiFi without issues.

The port 100 is definitely open but it is funny that my port checker shows no other open ports which is weird and I can only assume that they are opened and closed as necessary.

I think that I had better re-read all thew tutorials

Once again may thank for your interest and help,

Regards Kevin

Reply with quote | Report
Thursday, December 13, 2018 7:16 AM